Künstlersekretariat Buchmann GmbH

Aron Quartett

Aron Quartett
Aron Quartett
Aron Quartett

Contact Person

Curriculum (PDF)

The aron quartett was formed in 1998 by four Viennese musicians: Ludwig Müller, Barna Kobori, Georg Hamann and Christophe Pantillon.
 
They studied with members of the Alban Berg Quartett as well as Ernst Kovacic and Heinrich Schiff. Other great musicians who have played an important role in their artistic development include Isaac Stern, Max Rostal, William Primrose, Mischa Maisky, Ralph Kirshbaum and Sandor Végh.

The official debut in Vienna in the year of their formation was highly acclaimed by both the pubic and the press. Since then they have worked on a wide-ranging repertoire with Heinz Holliger, Heinrich Schiff and with members of the Alban Berg Quartett, Amadeus Quartet and La Salle Quartet.

Concerts with Oleg Maisenberg, Bruno Canino, Philippe Entremont and Sharon Kam as well as with members of the Alban Berg Quartett were occasions for the quartet to widen its repertoire. In 2002 the Alban Berg Quartett invited the aron quartett to perform in their own concert series at the Vienna Konzerthaus.

The aron quartett has appeared throughout Europe, USA and Mexico, as well as in renowned festivals (Vienna Festival, International String Quartet Festival Prag, Biennale di Venezia, Schoenberg Festival, Festival Klangbogen, Festival Cervantino, Kuhmo Festival).

In 2001 the aron quartett made its debut in New York (Carnegie Hall) and in 2002 in  London (Wigmore Hall) and in Moscow (Tchaikovsky Conservatory). 2004 in Vienna Musikvereinssaal.

The musical intention of the aron quartett is to devote itself not only to the classical string quartet literature, but also to the works of the Second Viennese School. For this reason they have been invited to present a subscription series as Quartet in Residence at the Arnold Schoenberg Center in Vienna where they perform quartets of the 18th, 19th and 20th century.

In 1999 the first CD of aron quartett with works by Schubert, Schoenberg, Mozart und Ullmann was edited. In February 2002 an EBU-concert of the quartet has been broadcasted live throughout Europe.

The CD with string quartets by Franz Schubert (“Rosamunde” and “The Death and the Maiden”) has been released in January 2003 (Preiser Records 90549). The complete recording of the string quartets by Arnold Schoenberg (Preiser Records 90572) in December 2003. To order please see under “links”.

Künstlersekretariat Buchmann GmbH

Aron Quartett

Aron Quartett
Aron Quartett
Aron Quartett

Biografie (PDF)

Das Aron Quartett wurde 1998 von Ludwig Müller, Barna Kobori, Georg Hamann und Christophe Pantillon, vier Wiener Musikern, gegründet.

Ihr künstlerischer Werdegang wurde von den Mitgliedern des Alban Berg Quartetts sowie von Ernst Kovacic und Heinrich Schiff entscheidend geprägt. Weitere für ihre musikalische Laufbahn maßgebende Impulse gingen von Isaac Stern, Max Rostal, William Primrose, Mischa Maisky, Ralph Kirschbaum und Sandor Végh aus.

Im Gründungsjahr fand das Wiener Debüt statt, das bei Publikum und Presse großes Echo hervorrief. Seither wurde - auch in Zusammenarbeit mit Heinz Holliger, Heinrich Schiff, sowie Mitgliedern des Amadeus, LaSalle und Alban Berg Quartetts - ein breitgefächertes Repertoire erarbeitet.

Das aron quartett tritt auch gemeinsam mit Künstlern wie Oleg Maisenberg, Bruno Canino, Philippe Entremont, Sharon Kam und Mitgliedern des Alban Berg Quartetts auf. 2002 war das aron quartett Gast im Zyklus des Alban Berg Quartetts im Wiener Konzerthaus.

Rege Konzerttätigkeit führte das aron quartett bisher durch Europa, die USA und Mexiko, sowie zu renommierten Festivals (Wiener Festwochen, .International String Quartet Festival Prag, Biennale di Venezia, Schönberg Festival, Festival “Klangbogen”, Festival Cervantino, Kuhmo Festival u.a.).

Im Jahr 2001 debütierte das aron quartett in der Carnegie Hall in New York und 2002 in Londons Wigmore Hall sowie im Tschaikowsky-Konservatorium in Moskau. 2004 im Wiener Musikverein.

Die Intention des aron quartetts, sich neben der Auseinandersetzung mit der klassischen Literatur für Streichquartett auch den Werken der Zweiten Wiener Schule zu widmen, führte noch im Gründungsjahr zur Einladung, im Arnold Schönberg Center in Wien als Quartet in Residence einen eigenen Zyklus zu gestalten, in welchem das aron quartett Kompositionen des 18., 19. und 20. Jahrhunderts präsentiert.

1999 erschien die erste CD des aron quartetts mit Werken von Schubert, Schönberg, Mozart und Ullmann. Im Februar 2002 wurde ein Konzert des aron quartetts vom ORF (Österreichischen Rundfunk) im Rahmen der EBU europaweit ausgestrahlt.

Die CD-Einspielungen des aron quartetts umfassen Streichquartette von Franz Schubert (“Rosamunde” und “Der Tod und das Mädchen”, Preiser Records 90549) und eine CD-box mit der Gesamtaufnahme aller Werke für Streichquartett von Arnold Schönberg (Preiser Records 90572), wofür das aron quartett den Pasticcio-Preis erhielt. Diese Einspielung wird von der internationalen Presse zu den besten Aufnahmen von Werken der Kammermusik aus dem 20. Jhdt. gezählt. Die herausragende Interpretation sowie die technische Meisterschaft stellen nicht nur die hohe Kompetenz des aron quartetts unter Beweis, sondern setzen auch neue Maßstäbe.